L’Isle is the village where the river La Venoge, glorified by the poet Jean Villars-Gilles (originally from the Vaud canton), has its spring. The Isle Castle was built in the 17th century. Furthermore, the region of L’Isle offers about 120 km of marked hiking trails.
L’Isle is a charming Jura foot village, accessible by the train BAM (Bière-Apples-Morges). The Castle of L’Isle, built in the 17th century, was given the surname “Petit Versaille vaudois” (Little Versailles of Vaud).
The castle was built in 1696 by Charles de Chandieu, a Lieutenant General of the Swiss guards of Louis XIV. After having been handed on to different families, the Castle of L’Isle was finally bought back by the commune of L’Isle and converted into schoolrooms and a town hall.
The Venoge river, immortalized in 1954 by the famous poet Jean Villars-Gilles, has its spring in the upper village. But the Venoge river has not only one but six springs: The hiking trails marked blue and white lead to the two main springs, Le Chaudron and Le Puits.